Business Modeling

Background: I would like to be a validator in the state of California and therefore I am expressing views from this angle.

About me: I am a business person, while I am familiar with the technology behind blockchains; in my work I focus on the business side of the industry. My day job is to build business models for blockchain enabled solutions.

Security and long term state of the network

• Premise: Validators are incentivized to keep the size of their group small to keep the token rewards for a selected few
  • Technology: less validators means faster transaction speed

However, for security reasons both validators and users may be incentivized to increase the number of validators as the network builds up.

Let’s start small and say that we have 3 core validators:

The security of the network relies on 3 individuals who have their identity publically available which includes their up to date: name, residence address, and business address. In my state, under the public notary license, validators are liable if this information is not kept up to date within 30 days of a change.

Let’s assume that people keep their hardware, private keys, etc. safely away from their primary residence listed in the public registry. Still, as the network grows in value, it would be easy for malicious actors to intimidate validators and/or family members. In the worst case scenario, organized attacks by criminal organizations could be coordinated in a way in which every validator is physically attacked and incapacitated at the same time. From their primary residence, validators can be followed and routines can be established, which is enough for a criminal mind to predict the best time of an attack on the network.