Forum

Parity Node Setup - Clearer Instructions

With the recent passing of the vote to lower the node requirements to 2,000 STAKE I am trying to setup a node. I’m a devops engineer, I use linux and docker, so this should be pretty easy. Unfortunately after going over the article (especially OpenEthereum / Parity Node Setup - xDai STAKE) I am left with quite a few questions:

1. How do I create a keystore JSON file (I have been unable to find out how to do this on the web. I could offline MEW and create one that way [Using MEW Offline (Cold Storage) | MyEtherWallet Knowledge Base], but that looks a bit long winded)
  2. Does the keystore file have to be for my ETH address that has the 2,000 STAKE in
  3. Does the keystore file have to be for my ETH address on the mainnet or on the xDAI chain
  4. In the .env there is an ADDRESS variable, again, what is this for? Proof of funds? Reward address? Mainnet? xDAI chain?
    It seems the part of the tutorial labelled “Save Mining Address JSON Keystore file and Password” requires additional information for those that are new to creating nodes (of whom a lot will be).

Hi,

just a quick note, vote has passed but the 2000 STAKE for the Validators was not yet implemeted, target date is Q1 2021. Regarding the rest, I am not the right person to answer but I am sure someone will help you.

Thanks for the feedback, we will clarify in the docs. For generating a keystore file, you can use MEW or the mycrypto desktop app.

With MEW, you can use their chrome extension. This is probably the easiest way. What is a Keystore/JSON file? Can I Change my Password? | MyEtherWallet Knowledge Base

MyCrypto directions: https://support.mycrypto.com/

1 Like

Thanks Andrew,
Looking forward to reading the updated docs

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

Yes, your STAKE should be in a separate account for staking.

To answer a couple of other questions: