Peter Chen - NY Notary Public, Regulatory Lawyer

Hello everyone,

I am very fortunate to be a part of the blockchain community and excited to become more involved with the POA Network. I am a regulatory lawyer at a firm in Manhattan, NY and I also lead a group that invests in blockchain projects. We look for projects with high long-term potential. I am a big believer in the “fat protocols” thesis (http://www.usv.com/blog/fat-protocols): that most of the value in the blockchain space will accrue to infrastructure protocols (e.g. BTC, ETH, NEO, POA).

Using validators and Proof of Authority is an efficient way to solve the problem of scaling while maintaining security and decentralization. POA, through its network of independent validators whose identities are publicly known, can achieve all of these; this is the Holy Grail of infrastructure protocols. Dapps can be rapidly and inexpensively deployed on the POA Network that fulfill the promise of the blockchain.

I hope to contribute to POA Network in whatever way I can. I am in touch with many projects and development teams, and I will use that network to increase adoption of the POA infrastructure. I am also a corporate lawyer with experience in advising clients on navigating regulatory law pertaining to derivatives, including the Dodd-Frank Act, federal law, and CFTC and SEC rules and regulations.

I would also like to serve as a validator for POA Network, starting first as a Sokol Test Network Validator. I understand from reading the materials on the POA github and from extensive discussions with Igor and current validators that this is a tremendous responsibility. Being a good validator means maintaining the node at all times, participating in on-chain governance, and acting honestly, transparently, and in good faith. I will work hard to fulfill these responsibility at all times.

I am an active notary public in the state of New York.