POA Application for Buyside Finance and Non For Profits

As someone with background in traditional buyside finance, initially I have been skeptical of the most well-known application of blockchain technology - cryptocurrencies. However, I started learning more about the topic thanks to my wife @Lena . She is a big believer in decentralized future and is involved with a bunch of blockchain projects, so no surprise that new consensus mechanisms / scalability solutions / other geeky topics come up quite often at family dinners. I came across interesting use-cases and analogies that made me think of technology’s applicability in general (Use case #1) and Proof of Authority in specific (Use cases #2 and #3).

Use case #1 - Acquisition/Leveraged Buyout Deal Mechanics:
I did not want to talk about p2p lending and micropayments as blockchain use-cases in finance, instead I wanted to take a look at how decisions are made and consensus is reached between financial institutions working together on a deal.

Let’s take a look at a specific example.I work at a private equity firm that invests in mature companies across various industries. Whenever the deal is executed, there are multiple parties that participate in the process, who are either directly involved or play a supporting role.

Typically those parties are:

• Seller - owners of the target company, who are looking to fundraise through selling part of the business or exit through selling the entire company
  • Buyer - typically a private equity firm and/or a strategic buyer (i.e. another company that is looking to have partial or full ownership of the selling company)
  • Lawyers - facilitators of the deal, negotiating the documents and playing the role of middlemen that ensure all parties act in good faith
  • Financing providers - investment banks, credit investors, other financial institutions, that lend money to the buyer to finance the transaction